the abandoned mines
What: mining complex and village
It is a village founded in the nineteenth century, to house the miners who worked in the lead and zinc deposits.
The town is along the coast, in a fascinating and characteristic setting; the miners’ homes overlook the beach of Porto Flavia, famous for the surrounding red rocks (Cambrian schists) and the characteristic white limestone rock which faces it, called Pan di Zucchero.
Porto Flavia, an extraordinary mining complex, dates back to 1924, and was named after the planner’s daughter, the engineer Cesare Vecelli.
The mineral loading and stockage system allowed a cargo boat to be loaded in one or two days (approx. 500 tons per hour), against the 7 or 8 days of hard work which were necessary with traditional loading systems.
The first information we have on this mine dates back to 1614, when Martino Esquirro gained its concession. The abandoned metal mines of Montecani and Acquaresi can be reached from Masua, taking a country road.
Texts Federico Fonnesu
web editing SP